The Monastery of Holy Agathon is cenobiotic. It is located at the foot of mount Oeta, at 1,814 ft. (553 m.) above sea level, 7 km west of Ypati, Phthiotis. The feast days of the monastery are August 6 and 15.
It is still unclear how the monastery was established. It dates back to the early 15th century, when the monk Agathon, who was cloistered in a different convent of the region, built the monastery at his own expense. It was not until later that the monastery took his name, however. It became a shelter for the fighters of the Greek Revolution of 1821. It was destroyed by Mahmud Dramali Pasha in 1822. The fire caused extensive damage to the frescoes of the catholicon, but valuable relics and remains of saints were saved.
The monastery’s catholicon was erected in the 15th century and various subsequent building works have been done to it. The catholicon is of the Athonite variety of the cross-in-square church and it is dedicated to Virgin Mary. It is located on the northeast side of the monastery. On each side of the catholicon there are four chapels decorated with murals that date back to mid-16th century. They can be divided into three phases: 16th – 17th century frescoes, 18th century ones, and 20th century frescoes.
In the premises of the monastery, Oeta’s Natural History Museum has been hosted since 1953. The museum showcases the flora and fauna of Oeta’s National Park. Outside the monastery, there is a reserve of wild bird species, a special area where peacocks are kept, as well as an enclosure of 1,200 acres, where a significant number of deer live. The monastery became known after the friar Vissarion Korkoliakos fell asleep in death. His body remains in pristine condition in a chapel of the monastery. Finally, the icon of Virgin Mary of Agathon is considered miraculous.