The Monastery of Prophet Elias is situated 17 km southeast of Amfissa and 6.5 km northwest of Chrisso. Themonastery is perched at an altitude of 1,312 ft. (400 m.), overlooking the Amfissa olive grove, the Corinthian Gulf, and Galaxidi, and facing the mountains of Peloponnese.
According to Ottoman documents, such as a huccet (title document) dating back to 1572, a 1593 Patriarchal Sigillum, and a 1834 manuscript, found in the monastery’s library, it is estimated that the monastery was erected in 1019.
Due to its strategic location, the monastery played an important role during the Greek Revolution of 1821, serving as a base of operations for Greek fighters, until August 1825, when it was destroyed by the Ottomans. In the monastery’s catholicon (temple), on March 24, 1821, Isaiah of Salona, chieftain Panourgias, and the notables of Amfissa declared the Greek Revolution.
The monastery was burnt again in 1834 and one more time by the Italians, during the German Occupation, in February 1943. After 1961, reconstruction works at the monastery started anew. Of particular interest is the wooden iconostasis, which was crafted with solid wood by the Metsovian sculptor Anastasios Moschos, as well as the library, which includes documents from the period of the Revolution of 1821.
Near the entrance of the monastery, there is a stone fence by a tree, perched on the edge of a cliff. The view from that place is stunning, particularly at sunrise.